There's a first time for everything,  broken pivot on a barrel arbor, granted it looks quite small and feeble, in a plate jewel as well  EB 8021N . Been running like that for a while looking at the wear on the plate. Typical all cleaned and ready for assembly, new balance staff fitted trued and poise checked.  Check all the watch parts people before you start cleaning and find the irreparable repair first 🤨. Looks like me and the lathe will be getting reacquainted tonight 🤷‍♂️

20240613_140148.jpg

20240613_140501.jpg

11 minutes ago, nevenbekriev said:

You can do it Rich, just a repivoting and the part is big.

Thanks Nev,  its my first attempt at repivoting anything, but yes its big so it eases me into the operation. 

Pivot is only 0.34 thats small as far as I'm concerned 😆

• Like 1

0.3mm hole drilled which was surprisingly easy and went a whole lot better than i expected considering i did it free hand with a carbide bit in a small pin vice,and no breakages. I only have some 0.34mm and 0.5mm blue steel so my plan is to open up the hole to 0.5mm and reduce the pivot down to size to fit the plate bearing before fitting it in the arbor.  I'm not entirely sure on the hole depth, my head is tell me 3x the hole diameter .

20240613_183732.jpg

20240613_183739.jpg

20240613_192018.jpg

20240613_191712.jpg

20240613_192759.jpg

20240613_201354.jpg

56 minutes ago, nevenbekriev said:

Go and drill with 0.4, then finally turn the piece to size untill it fits the hole. Don't worry, if something happens, You can turn new arbor.

I dont have a 0.4 mm Nev or i would have.  Turn a new arbor 😲😵 me thinks you overestimate my ability Nev 😅

23 minutes ago, RichardHarris123 said:

I have never understood how a square can be produced on a lathe, seen plenty of videos but not sure how it works. How do you make the huck on the arbor?

Only Nev knows that secret Rich, The only thing  i know is i wont be doing it !! 🤣

• Like 5

Just now, nevenbekriev said: